What If We Looked For Common Ground With Trump Voters?

Thought for the day: How about we find areas of agreement with Trump supporters?

DISCLAIMER: There is NO way I am suggesting that I or any other Green Party person should tolerate any kind of racism, sexism, or homophobia from the Trump camp. However, I know from experience that they are not all that way.

Please pay me the courtesy of reading this to the end, before you jump on me. Before we go any further, let me share a campaign story with you.

Midway through my campaign for the 86th District, a man and his wife came into my store. They have been customers for many years. He was excited that I was running, had read a lot of my blog posts and literature and went on for several minutes in support of my efforts. They wanted a yard sign and to take extra lit to hand out to their friends. As they were walking out the door they told me how my sign was going right next to their Trump sign.

My initial reaction was stomach turning panic. HOLY CRAP – me, next to Trump. Then my wife reminded me of several news stories we had seen when Bernie was in the race and how Trump and Sanders supporters voiced that they would support the other guy if their first choice was eliminated. It made no sense to me at the time, but I slowed my brain down and realized that there was a lot of common ground to the average person. Both were “outsiders” who did not take Corporate money (at least at first for Trump) and who were saying that the current system sucked.

I have to tell you that in my District, there were several people who voted Trump and voted for me. They do NOT fit the “stereo type” we like to assign Trump voters. I know of at least two women and the two men I know of are not trailer trash with no education. One is a retired guy who LOVES Green energy – he was bragging about his solar panels to me yesterday. The other guy is mid-30’s who works for a tech company and travels the country setting up tracking systems for medical equipment in hospitals.

I have never gotten a racist, misogynistic, or homophobic vibe from either of these guys. Nor do I think they believe we need to wall out Mexicans or ban Muslims.

Anyway, the light bulb went on for me yesterday when the older guy stopped in to congratulate me on getting 3% of the vote. He also shared how he would “sell” me to his friends by talking about Pipeline #5 because a lot of his friends own property on the Big Lake and/or are avid fisherman. Then I alerted him to the plans of Nestle to take MORE water for FREE. He was incensed and vowed to help me get the word out and offered to go with me if there was a public hearing.

What resonates with “Jim” is the fact that a SWISS Corporation with billions in assets is making multiple millions from Michigan’s best resource: Our Water.

Will I stand arm in arm with this Trump voter to stop Nestle? HELL YES!

Will I invite him to protest Pipeline 5? HELL YES!

Will I actively look for other Michigan issues that I think he and I can agree on and work together to get solved? You bet your sweet bippy I will.

nestle-collage-2

Oh – by the way, here is a link to the petition I started to STOP Nestle from taking more than double the amount of water from the two aquifers they are draining. Are YOU willing to sign the same petition that has been signed by some Trump voters? I dare you!

Click here to: Sign the STOP NESTLE PETITION.

2 thoughts on “What If We Looked For Common Ground With Trump Voters?

  1. Pingback: Monday Moanin’: House speaker is 35 and inexperienced |

Leave a Reply

