Kermit Is Wrong – Being Green Is Easy!

I am pretty sure anybody reading this is familiar with Kermit The Frog and his theme song, “It Ain’t Easy Being Green.”

Frog has it wrong! Being a Green candidate is easy – because we answer to YOU, the voters. We are here to put the political power back in the hands of the people, where the very first words of the Michigan Constitution tells us it belongs:

“All political power is inherent in the people. Government is instituted for their equal benefit, security, and protection.” Art 1 Sec 1

Being Green is easy because we are not going to make a bunch of promises that we KNOW we cannot keep. Being Green is easy because we do not have to remember what we told which group of people or PAC when we were trying to get their money! Being Green in office will be easy, because we are not going to spend any of our time “dialing for dollars” and trying to raise PAC and Corporate money – No, you put me in Lansing and I am going to do the work you sent me there to do. Green candidates will not be wasting time, and your tax dollars, taking lobbyists phone calls or going out to dinner with some PAC representative trying to sway our votes.

Nope, you put a Green like me in office and you will get your money’s worth. Send me to Lansing and I will work hard – you will not see me spending the whole two years campaigning for the next election. I want to let my efforts do the talking for me. At the end of two years if you think I did a good job, then re-hire me. Easy-peasy!

One of my campaign goals, and I know I have this in common with all the other 32 Green Party candidates in Michigan as well as Jill Stein and Ajamu Baraka, is that I (we) want to be the type of representative that you are PROUD of.

Might not be easy being a Green Frog, but being a Green Party Candidate is just grrrrr-eat! (to quote another cultural icon!)

I had a little fun with this subject here: Being a Green is Easy.

 

Leave a Reply

